A Face-off with Finance

finance

Thanks to Angie Lira, Senior Career Advisor, for this creative graphic

I haven’t taken a math class in more than 30 years. Balancing my checkbook has been all the math I needed – until now. These days I’m facing off with present values, future values, net present values, and the Dividend Discount Model. I’m in a doctoral level Finance class, which is like climbing Mount Everest without a sherpa or climbing experience!

I know – there are infinitely more important things going on in the world right now – Executive Orders, Cabinet nominations, and world-wide marches. Absolutely! I watch Robert Reich’s “Resistance Reports” nightly and I’m tracking Twitter for the latest breaking news.

However, just in case this article helps others struggling with their own Mount Everests, here it is.

There’s a saying, “Leap and the net will appear.”

When I posted a plea for Finance help on Facebook, a friend suggested I consult local non-profits. I reached out to my local SCORE chapter. A retired finance executive called me to discuss the time value of money for more than an hour! I contacted an alumnus from our university via LinkedIn to ask whether he would consider tutoring me. He is very skilled at explaining financial concepts in layperson’s terms, and we had a very helpful Google Hangout discussion. When I offered to pay for his time, he refused, saying this was his way of “paying it forward.”

I reached out to my instructor – we met via Skype on a weekend. His helpful Excel spreadsheets and explanations made things so clear that I aced my next quiz. I must be catching on now. I just ran a complex course work assignment by a tutor in our university’s Academic Skills Center. He’s a finance expert and he said it looked like I was on the right track. Amazing!

Written by Lisa Cook, Senior Director, Career Services Center and DBA Student                         Originally published on LinkedIn, February 6, 2017

Lisa

 

