The Privilege of Voting for Our Next President

i-voted

I had the opportunity to vote for our next president this week in early voting in Minnesota. I was very excited – I always enjoy voting – it’s my civic duty and I am glad to do it.

This has been a tough election season for many. I have heard folks say they “just want the election over with already” and “I am not going to bother to vote – it won’t make any difference.”

There’s a saying, “What we focus on, we become.” Let’s be the kind of citizens who care enough to cast our votes, whatever they may be.  We encourage our learners to proactively manage their careers.  We are also asking that you proactively engage in the future direction of our country.

We are lucky to live in a country where we have the privilege to vote. It’s important to be positive, proactive, and have our voices heard. If you’re not happy with the way things are going, then actively participate in our democracy and vote to change things. Whether you vote Democrat, Republican, Independent, or write someone in, please vote and make your voice heard.

Voting is a privilege – please use it!  Thank you!!

Wondering whether your state offers early voting? Please visit this non-partisan link: https://www.vote.org/early-voting-calendar/

Lisa Cook, Senior Director of Career Services

