And So My Doctoral Journey Begins…

It has been 15 years since I last took a graduate class – and I cannot think of a better way to kick off 2016 than pursuing my DBA online with Walden! I’m very excited about this new venture. I’m aiming to wear a new hat as Dr. Lisa Cook by December 2019.


The connections I make on this journey will be keys to bridging the gap between where I am now and where I’ll be in 2019 – just as much as the knowledge, research and writing skills I’ll acquire. I’m going to take advantage of every possible networking and experiential opportunity available and I’ll be journaling my way through to tell a new career story. I hope that my view “from the other side of the classroom” helps our career advising team support our students more empathetically and more effectively.


Happy New Year! I hope your year is full of promise, new connections and opportunities!


Lisa Cook, Senior Director of Career Services, Walden University

